Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff elected to the German Academy of Science and Engineering

Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff was elected as a member of acatech - German Academy of Science and Engineering and will be involved in the Materials Science and Engineering thematic network in the future. The election took place at the last General Assembly on October 10, 2023 in Berlin. The proposal was submitted by the Presidium.

Geschäftsführende Institutsleitung Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff, Fraunhofer IWKS
© Fraunhofer IWKS
Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff

Weidenkaff is one of 39 new members of the Academy, all of whom are outstanding scientists from the engineering and natural sciences, medicine and the humanities and social sciences.

acatech is a national academy funded by the German federal and state governments and the voice of the technological sciences in Germany and abroad. Under the patronage of the Federal President, it advises politicians and society on future issues relating to technology science and technology policy - independently, based on facts and oriented towards the common good. "I feel very honored to be accepted into the circle of acatech members," says Weidenkaff about the election. She continues: "For me as a scientist, this is both recognition and a mandate to actively contribute to the key issues and challenges of our time. I am looking forward to making an intensive contribution to the Academy's thematic networks, working groups and projects."

Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff has been Managing Director of the Fraunhofer Research Institution for Materials Recycling and Resource Strategies IWKS and Professor of Materials Engineering and Resource Management at the Technical University of Darmstadt since 2018. Her current research focuses on the development, synthesis and characterization of substitution materials for energy conversion and storage, as well as the development of sustainable materials and next-generation process technologies for fast and efficient closed material cycles.

Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU) since 2020 and a member of the Leopoldina, the German National Academy of Sciences, since January 2023. Her work has been recognized with several awards, most recently she received the Karl Böer Rene-wable Energy Mid-Career Award in 2022.