

Prof. Dr. Anke Weidenkaff

Professor for Materials Engineering and Resource Management TU Darmstadt & Institute Director Fraunhofer IWKS

Address:	TU Darmstadt Peter-Grünberg-Str. 2 64287 Darmstadt	Fraunhofer IWKS Aschaffenburger Str. 121 63457 Hanau
Phone:	+ 49 6151 16-25870	+ 49 6023 32039-817
Mail:	anke.weidenkaff@mr.tu-darn anke.weidenkaff@iwks.fraun	
Personal Details		
Date and Place of Birth:	Dezember 27, 1966 in Hannover (DE)	
Nationality:	German and Swiss	
Education		
2006	Habilitation, Solid State Cher (DE)	nistry, University of Augsburg
1999	PhD, Chemistry, Swiss Feder Zürich (CH)	ral Institute of Technology (ETH)
1988 – 1996	Diploma-Chemistry, University of Hamburg (DE)	
1988	School for Chemistry and Pha	armacy, Luneburg (DE)
Professional Career / A	ppointments	
since 10/2018	Full Professor (W3), Materials Management, Institute of Mat University of Darmstadt (DE) Materials Recycling and Rese Alzenau (DE)	terials Science, Technical and Director, Fraunhofer IWKS -
2013 – 09/2018		r Chemical Materials Synthesis, Materials Science, University of
2008 – 2013	Professor, Materials Chemist Biochemistry, University of B	ry, Department of Chemistry and ern (CH)

2008	Visiting Professor, Materials Science, Case Western Reserve University and Visiting Researcher, NASA Glenn Research Center Cleveland (USA)
2007 – 2008	Research Fellow, Materials Science, Institute of Physics, University of Augsburg (DE)
2006 – 2013	Head of the Department Solid State Chemistry and Catalysis, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (Empa), Dübendorf (CH)
2003 – 2006	Group Leader, Solid State Chemistry, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (Empa), Dübendorf (CH)
2003	Visiting Professor, Crystallography and Materials Science Laboratory (CRISMAT), UFR Science, University of Caen (FR)
2000 – 2003	Research Fellow (C1), Laboratory of Solid State Chemistry, Institute of Physics, University of Augsburg (DE)
1999 – 2000	Postdoc, Institute of Science and Technology of Materials and Processes (CNRS-IMP), Font-Romeu-Odeillo (FR)
1998	Postdoc, Solar Research Facilities, Weizmann Institute of Science (WIS), Rehovot (IL)
1996 – 1999	Research Fellow, Solar Technology Laboratory, Energy and Environment Research Division, Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) Villigen (CH)
1996 – 1997	Master Student, Solid State Chemistry Group, Universität Zürich (CH)

Boards, Committees, Speakerships, Memberships

2023	Member of the "Leopoldina" (Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher)
since 2022	Green Awards Jury Member 2022
since 2022	High Tech Founders Fund (HTGF) Committee Member for the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK)
2022	Organiser of the European Materials Research Society E- MRS Fall Meeting
since 2021	Member of the Steering Committee of the Research Field "Energy & Environment" of the TU Darmstadt
since 2021	Jury Member, German Innovation Prize Climate and Environment (IKU)
since 2021	Advisory Board Member, Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (BAM)
since 2020	Member of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU)
since 2020	Member of the Board of Directors, Materials Valley e.V.
since 2019	Member of the Board of Trustees, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE)
2019 – 2022	Member and Deputy Chair of the Advisory Board "Information", Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT - Helmholtz Association)

since 2018	Board Member of the GDCh Division of Solid State Chemistry and Materials Science
2018 – 2020	Vice President, GDCh Division Solid State Chemistry and Materials Research
2016 – 2019	Member and Spokesperson of the Advisory Board Science and Technology of Nanosystems (SNT) and the Karlsruhe Nano Mikro Facility (KNMF) (KIT), Helmholtz Association
2016 – 2020	Member of the DFG Review Board, Subject area 406-02 (Synthesis and Properties of Functional Materials)
2016 – 2019	President, European Thermoelectric Society (ETS)
2015 – 2017	Member of the Board of Directors, Materials Research Society (MRS)
2014 – 2018	Member of the International Max Planck Research School for Condensed Matter Science (IMPRS-CMS)
2013 and 2019	Co-Chair of the European Materials Research Society E-MRS Spring Meeting
since 2012	Executive Board member of the European Materials Research Society E-MRS
2011 – 2013	President of the Swiss Thermoelectric Society (STS)
since 2011	Member of the Board of Trustees, Freiburg Materials Research Center (FMF)
since 2011	Scientific Advisory Board Member, GreenTEG GmbH, Zurich
2009 – 2014	Executive Board Member, National Centre of Competence in Research (NFS) "Materials with Novel Electronic Properties" (MaNEP) of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
2008 – 2009	Swiss Delegate, EU-Programme Commission "Nanosciences, Nanotechnologies, Materials and New Production Technologies" (NMP)
2000 – 2003	Faculty Board Delegate of the Research Staff, PhD and Award Committee, MNTF Faculty, University of Augsburg

Editorial Boards

since 2021	Applied Physics Review (APR) Editorial Advisory Board
2021	Editorial Board Member, "MRS Bulletin" (published by the MRS in cooperation with Springer Nature)
2013 – 2014	Chief Editor and Editorial Board Member of "Energy Quarterly"
2012	Member of the Advisory Board of the MRS book series on "Energy and Sustainability"

Awards

2022	Karl Böer Renewable Energy Mid-Career Award
2022	Award for Excellent Supervisors of Chinese PhD Students of the German and Chinese Chemical Societies
2011	Kavli Foundation Lectureship Award
1998	SolarPACES Award